Third Chances, Rip Van Winkle, and Wong Kar-Wai

In the business of life, every tiny episode is a test, every human encounter a lesson.  Look and learn. One day you might achieve all that I have.  But time is sprinting past you, faster than you think.  You’re already playing catch-up, even as you read this.  Fortunately you do get a second chance.  My advice to you is: take it.  A third rarely comes your way.

-F.S.B.

Facile words. But am feeling them rather acutely. I am Rip Van Winkle, slumbering and sleepwalking as the world moves on around me. Or worse, an awkward stilted character in a 90’s WKW film, stop-motion-ing my movement and actions as everyone and everything sprints past me in a blur:

[stop-motion starts 1:15]


.
.
.
Have let a million second chances pass me by. But I just need a singular third.

Leave a Reply

