You First Believed [from sampans to skyscrapers]

Those who have read my tired old posts, (hidden) comments, and throwaway thoughts on this site (at least between the lines) and elsewhere, would know how I feel about the government apologists of our tiny island city-state. But I am at the core a moderate, and try to practice mindfulness and moderation (key word is try!) in everything I do.

So, with that in mind…no hating on this following video please.

And I was really more taken with the nostalgic pictures of the old sampans (longshoremen boats) on the old Singapore River, transforming into the modern soaring skyscrapers. When I was growing up in the 1980’s, the government was already beginning its decade-long project to clean up and widen the old Singapore River, as well as modernize and gentrify the old shophouses and godowns along its banks.

But those old pictures of old Singapore River remain very much a part of my family ethos and indeed artistic oeuvre, with an artist uncle who was well-known and won acclaim for his ‘smoky’ watercolour paintings of the Singapore River.
[As well as for me and my cousins who participated in so many children’s art competitions held at the Singapore Riverside. Weekend after weekend my Mum and aunts entered us into these seemingly endless competitions…I was bored stiff.]

You First Believed:

Lyrics: Dominic Chin

[Verse]
This Is My Home
A place filled with peace and security
A place that would not have come so far that easily.
If it wasn’t because you first believed.

This is my life

A life of comfort and joy
A life that would not have been achieved easily.
If it wasn’t because you first believed.

[Chorus]
I can spread my wings and reach for the sky
I know, I’m safe here to fly.
Because you first dreamed, and made it a reality.
I can dream and dream to achieve.

[Verse 2]
Your voice came forth,
and made the change against all odds.
A nation you’ve built with sweat and tears
And it is because you first believed.

[Chorus]
I can spread my wings and reach for the sky
I know, I’m safe here to fly.
Because you first dreamed, and made it a reality.
I can dream and dream to achieve.

[Bridge]
This peace and this harmony did not come free
You did not fight in vain.
Through your hard work and faith,
you brought a new change
Now we see this nation strong and free!

[Chorus]
I can spread my wings and reach for the sky
I know, I’m safe here to fly.
Because you first dreamed, and made it a reality.
I can dream and dream to achieve.

And dream to achieve.

Because you first dreamed and made it a reality,
Now we can dream and dream to achieve.

Somehow, the tributes by these youngsters warm my cynical heart, a little…

Well done.

[But I do hope that last scene in the video is not of the Rock auditorium.
Oh dear oh dear oh dear…from pauper to Prince, from Prince to pauper…
]

2 thoughts on “You First Believed [from sampans to skyscrapers]

  1. close enough… the one who made it is a fellow youth from NCC’s youth ministry, so that place is our new meeting venue, Shine Auditorium, since the main congre has moved to buona vista

    infact, all the kids shown are from NCC youth ministry =)

  2. Hi Joshua,

    Thanks for the heads up.

    I didn’t know anything about the background of the video or it’s creator when I viewed it. But it did sounded very much like it had a gospel/worship song beat when I was listening to the song. Then when that last scene of the auditorium cut in…
    :)

    It’s been many years since I attended a few services at the Rock. I had no idea the congregation has moved. And now realize that my little pun on pauper/Prince seems to have taken on an unintended double entendre/rejoinder:
    apparently the shine had been taken off the old Jade and Prince cinema theatres, and they had closed to make way for the shiny new Shine Auditorium, to herald the true living Gem & Rock of the world and prince of this principality…
    From dulled jade gems to new shiny rocks, from pauper to shining Prince(s) indeed.

    Anyway, kudos to the songwriter, performers, video creators and all the other youths in there. Great video.
    :)

Leave a Reply

