P.A.I.N.

10 weeks of pain and counting.

Endured nearly 4 weeks of crippling pain (lower back pain, intense burning swooning sciatic nerve pain down one leg, numbness down the other) after the dreaded and damning, white-faced MRI result and diagnosis (greater than 80% disc extrusion and compression on all nerve roots), seeking second and third opinions in vain, before finally recognizing the inevitability or rather, urgency of surgery (any further delay will likely increase probability of permanent damage to the nerves, resulting in permanent sciatic pain, weakness and even paralysis). After the op, the surgeon came by my room while I was still groggy from the GA and exclaimed that the spinal canal crowding was worse than what the MRI scan had showed, the amount of extruded disc material he had to remove was one of the largest he had seen in his 1000 operations (waving in front of my dopey eyes and face a bottle containing pinkish-white gelatinous material. What used to be my spinal disc material. Gross). One nerve root was pushed particularly out and around the laminar bone, thus causing the severe sciatic leg pain. No wonder even the double dosages of Arcoxia, Lyrica, Tramadol etc did little to alleviate the ‘deep within the bone’ pain; no wonder I was in so much pain, the doc said. He was surprised I was able to move around at all. Morphine would probably had worked better, he added. Gee, thanks doc…

The post-op recovery not going as well as I thought. Back pain, twinges, tender surgery wound, and worse, the cramping pain and weakness in the legs. But thankfully, of lessened intensity. At least I can sit for more than 10 minutes at a time now. And pull on my shorts with less pain.
Hmm, probably should not have started the Pilates strengthening exercises so soon. The pull-ups, dips and push-ups I gingerly started doing since last week probably not helping as well.

Ah well, am just thankful I am resting under the sweetest personal TLC. I may be all mucked up in pain and truly, a Broken Man now. But I’m still on top of the world.

5 thoughts on “P.A.I.N.

  1. Oh dear, just seen your post. My commiserations to you my friend. Hope the surgery is a success and that you are feeling better now. I have the same problem although nowhere as bad as yours. Still, I can imagine what you must have gone through and fully empathize. Get well soon.

  2. Hi T,

    Thanks. Appreciate it. :)

    Yeah, it is really tough this time round. I pushed too hard and blew it out big-time, no second chances and alternative way out like previously; only the surgery option this time. And even after post-op, the recovery process has been difficult, painful and slow so far – two baby steps forward, one agonizing stumble back…literally!

    And actually am a bit embarrassed, especially thinking about how I encouraged you a little while back regarding your own slipped disc condition, while describing my experience with healing my old slipped disc problem without the use of surgical treatment all those years ago. Guess I am now just an example of what NOT to do when you have a slipped disc… Hoping that you are managing your condition much better.

    Thinking of posting a post-mortem of some sort soon about my condition and process, maybe as a warning to self and others to not push our bodies too hard, especially for those who are still young and think they are invincible supermen!

    Anyway, am eager to get back to my desk and back into action soon. This new year seems to hold much promise for an interesting time ahead for the markets. Been sidelined for too long. Hope to see you discoursing on your engagement with the markets too.

    All the best.

  3. Details of surgery as well if you could, in addition to post mortem of condition and process. My bad back is an ongoing one and I guess once the disc is compromised you will never ever get back to normal and you just have to manage it as best you can.

    Just stared trading again in small yesterday.

Leave a Reply

