Summer breeze, blowing through the jasmine in my mind

Decided to take a walk along the beach and coastal park earlier today; an early evening walk, a good time to catch the sunset and glowing golden rays of dusk. Have felt the heat and still heavy air of the past weeks giving way slightly to the first stirrings of southern winds from the sea – the South-west monsoon winds may soon be upon us. Thought it would be perfect if I could catch a little gentle summer breeze on my coastal walk today.

Tempted to go all the way down to the eastern tip of the coastal park, to the tanah merah ferry terminal before turning back, a nice ambling 10 km walk starting from my neighbourhood underpass access to the beach, or about 20 klicks including the return journey. Usually this will take me about 3+ hours on an easy steady pace, and I used to do this several times a week, saving the longer and more arduous 30-40 km route from east coast park to changi beach park and back, for the weekends.

But today being a weekday, and still the ‘middle’ of the trading day (London lunchtime hours are the global ‘midday hours’, or our local early evening hours), I had to be firm and not give in to my rambling wanderlust. Shall turn around at the Bedok Jetty. Okay, maybe a little further to the old PA campsite with its small cove and little quiet strip of sandy beach, and lovely alcove of trees and overhanging branches. Or maybe just a little further… …

bedok_jetty

bedok_jetty

Photo from TNP

Summer Breeze – Seals & Croft #1 Hit(1972):

Summer Breeze

See the curtains hangin’ in the window, in the evenin’ on a Friday night.
A little light a-shinin’ through the window, lets me know everything is alright.
Summer breeze, makes me feel fine, blowing through the jasmine in my mind.
Summer breeze, makes me feel fine, blowing through the jasmine in my mind.

See the paper layin’ on the sidewalk, a little music from the house next door.
So I walked on up to the doorstep, through the screen and across the floor.
Summer breeze, makes me feel fine, blowing through the jasmine in my mind.
Summer breeze, makes me feel fine, blowing through the jasmine in my mind.

Sweet days of summer, the jasmine’s in bloom. July is dressed up and playing her tune.
And I come home from a hard day’s work, and you’re waiting there, not a care in the world.

See the smile a-waitin’ in the kitchen, food cookin’ and the plates for two.
Feel the arms that reach out to hold me, in the evening when the day is through.
Summer breeze, makes me feel fine, blowing through the jasmine in my mind.
Summer breeze, makes me feel fine, blowing through the jasmine in my mind.

And I definitely did get a summer breeze tonight…and a whole lot more!

Got lulled into too relaxed a mood by the balmy breeze and easing light and with the above tune blowing through the jaded jasmine in my mind, to keep an eye on the gathering rain clouds forming above and behind me. Was walking due east and enjoying the wind on my back, thinking smugly to myself that the South-west monsoon is indeed upon us, without realizing that crimson and gray storm clouds had been riding and approaching on the same south-west winds behind.

Was a little startled when the first crack and clap of lightning and thunder struck, and I turned around to find large billowing storm clouds and the gray murky sleet of rain stretching from over the south-west seas and approaching the twinkling lights of the cityscape in the distance. In a few quick moments, like a galloping cavalry on the vanguard of a fast approaching army horde throwing up a mighty dust storm, it soon reached and began swallowing up the city, the citylights dimming and blinking out one by one by one…

No way I was going to be able to outrun the wind and rain and make it back before it got to me. Time to find a pavilion and shelter and a nice spot to enjoy the moment and wait out the rain.

One and a half hours later, I’m still at the same shelter and its still raining. Looks like its one of those light but steady drizzle that would just go on and on the whole night. No choice, will have to get wet if I don’t want to miss US opening tonight.

Damn that summer breeze. I got totally summer rain-ed on through and through that wet and limp jasmine of my mind. And I’ve already been nursing a slight head cold this past few days. Sniffles.
.
.
.
The rain only finally let up a little while ago, as I am tapping this out at this early morning hour. Tropical summer weather is really unpredictable.

But even now, I spy with my little eye, red clouds over the dark night sky, and strong whippy winds bending and throwing the trees around outside. I forecast early morning pre-dawn squalls and rain in the next few hours.

5 thoughts on “Summer breeze, blowing through the jasmine in my mind

  1. Oh dear, now that I have released Seals & Croft and 70’s folk/soft rock back into my mind, I may have to go the whole hog and go through my old collection of England Dan & John Ford Coley, Bread/David Gates, Neil Young, S&G, Joni Mitchell, Carly Simon, Air Supply, Chicago…

    Maybe just one…

    Simon & Garfunkel – The Sound of Silence:

  2. :) had joni mitchell’s ʍou sǝpıs ɥʇoq in my head earlier because a thought on perspectives and the importance of differentiating between imagination, illusion-disillusion and delusion. but decided the sound of silence was more appropriate given the irony that day. i like this rendition. since I can’t hang like batman, i intend to go to east coast or the reservoirs to watch the sky this sat. hoping that it will not rain.

  3. Being able to frame perspectives and see from different sides is important; but in the end, we are all viewing things-reality from an already imposed frame of reference. In a way, it is a sort of first principles existential stand/decision everyone has to take/make just to be able to relate to anything and to carry on. Unless one is attempting to make the movement towards a Kierkegaardian or even more extreme, Nietzschean Nihilism… Not advisable, that would be a labyrinthine and ultimately dead-ended and futile path. Really.

    [While it can be extremely liberating to move towards the edge of your own well-structured ‘Event-horizon’ and take that next step/leap beyond and free-fall into Nothing-Anything… but in the end, that is still only a mental construct…]

    Differentiating between ‘reality’, imagination, and delusion is a tricky one. Growing up, I actually had difficulty distinguishing between them, and had harbored childish thoughts on whether I was actually a Reconciler placed on Earth to reconcile the different worlds/dominions, heh…
    Oftentimes, caught up in my reveries, I wondered just WHO AM I…but I really shouldn’t go there again.

    I digress, and am embarrassed that my psychoses are showing…

    But all these does bring to mind previous thoughts jotted down feverishly regarding Failed Therapists, Sky rockets in flight, and Pushing the right buttons.

    Speaking of which, my slight head cold and sore throat has developed into a full blown fever and cold, which probably explains my delirious thoughts above. As for hanging and training like batman, I couldn’t even stand and balance myself getting out of bed today – I do hope its not some form of ear Labyrinthitis…. :P

    Have stocked up and fortified myself with my 泡参-pao shen infusions and my go-to failsafe, Lemsip. Hope to recover in time for my weekend walkabout. If not, there’s always the Marina Bay Regatta/Dragon Boat races to check out. Hanging out at the Marina Bayfront on the weekend should be interesting.
    :)

  4. Awh, take care.

    Nah, I’m nearer to Mannheim’s closest approximation to the truth if pressed, but mostly non-committal and have a bag of jokes to detract :P

    Just bought a lovely illustration this morning – a fat triangular fox with four black socks dancing in the moonlight with a round hedgehog. It reminds me first of the owl and the pussycat, and then much closer to heart, a longstanding thought-exercise. It disturbed me as a kid that I couldn’t figure out if I’m a fox or a hedgehog, even though I knew that Isaiah Berlin didn’t mean for it to be taken seriously.

    The illustration reminds me of my stance in recent years – it doesn’t matter if I don’t know whether I’m a fox or a hedgehog, I don’t need to know everything to function though it’s fun and useful to figure out as much as possible. At the end of the day, I just need to face the music and hopefully, dance.

  5. I think the fox/hedgehog dichotomy is probably a tracing from one of the oldest and most pervasive Idea to have shaped western thinking, and which was best captured by the face-off between the adherents of Hegelian Monism, and its subsequent anti-Hegel/anti-Absolutism critics in the last two centuries hence.

    But thinking like this, is of course…bleah.

    In any case, hope you enjoy your new picture, and especially, dancing…

Leave a Reply

