Tizzy Bac: For the way I live

Slowing down…

Tizzy Bac have few slow ballads. This one is probably my favourite one. Not in the least for its very well written lyrics, even for Huiting’s (the lady keyboardist, vocalist and songwriter) exemplary standards.

Very satisfying to have a rock band with such unique and distinctive and avant garde sounds, write lyrics in a polished literary style, and applying a classical rhyming scheme.
And very balanced words and metaphors used here, with imagery that dances repeats and echoes from line to line. With each additional line, she colours shades layers her story and picture like a graceful water-colourist…

I especially love the way she clipped (to cadence) some of the lines in some places, removing whole words in sentences but which nonetheless do not lose their meaning;
and which probably with this minimalist treatment, coolly clarified even clearer and brighter still.

She’s brilliant !

.
.
.

Tizzy Bac – For the way I live:

For the way I live

多希望能 再一次机会 把心的坑洞都掩盖
在黑暗中 不住的懊悔 生命里那麼多空白

长路太难 真正望眼欲穿 没人在前方为我喝采
未知归向 未知此生的难 谁带我从头都看穿

起风 彩虹逆走
月升日落 管芒花絮吹送
北极冰冻 越过瀚海洋流
我在等候 究竟多少忍耐 多少失败

又让你失望 我始终没能停下
For the way I live, baby
Im so sorry
想紧抓著你 从此不再分离
却像季节的候鸟 天暖就飞去
你总会走开 不会一直都在
For the way I live
只好 接受这必然
我以为远方 会有新的风景
却在每一个异地 流泪 回望着记忆…

这流浪的人 努力让梦成真
a thousand times for you Ill try
请别放弃我太快
用悲伤武装 寂寞磨练眼光
Thats the way I live 谁肯和我交换
又让你失望 我始终没能停下
Thats the way I live, thats the way I did
我以为远方 会有不同的月光
却始终回望你的身旁

Honey Ill try…
a thousand times…
for you Ill try…
a thousand times…
say goodbye

.

For the way I live

Really hope to – have another chance – to fill+cover this pithole of the heart
In the darkness – unbounded anguish/regret – so many empty white spaces in life

This long road is too hard – casting a true gaze to penetrate/see the end – noone is ahead cheering for me
Not knowing the way to return – not knowing the difficulties of this life – who can show and let me see completely from the start

Wind lifts – the rainbow steps backwards
The moon rises the sun sets – the miscanthus garlands blowing and accompanying
The northern (arctic) ice freezes/chills – crossing the North Sea and ocean currents
I am waiting – just how much enduring – how many failures

Letting you down again – in the end I still can’t stop/stay
For the way I live, baby
Im so sorry

Want to cling tightly onto you – never to part ever again
Yet like a temperate bird following the seasons – flying off when the weather warms
You will always have to leave – will not be here for always
For the way I live
Have to – accept this inevitability
I thought that in the far distance – there will be new vistas
But yet in every alien land – with tears streaming – looking back at memories…

This wandering person – works hard to realize his dreams
a thousand times for you I’ll try
Please don’t give up on me too quickly
Girding up/armoring with grief – grinding/sharpening the eyes with loneliness
Thats the way I live – who is willing to trade this with me
Letting you down again – in the end I still can’t stop/stay
Thats the way I live, thats the way I did
I thought that in the far distance – there will be a different moonlight
Yet in the end once again turn and look back to you

Honey Ill try…
a thousand times…
for you Ill try…
a thousand times…
say goodbye

Leave a Reply

